Please Note

This site is best viewed in Google Chrome in widescreen view.

United Nations General Assembly First Committee: Disarmament & International Security




The UN General Assembly is made up of 30 committees, 6 of which can be considered as ‘the main committees’ of the GA. The first committee of the General Assembly is the Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC).

It considers all disarmament and international security matters within the scope of the Charter or relating to the powers and functions of any other organ of the United Nations; the general principles of cooperation in the maintenance of international peace and security, as well as principles governing disarmament and the regulation of armaments; promotion of cooperative arrangements and measures aimed at strengthening stability through lower levels of armaments.

DISEC deals with issues regarding the promotion, establishment, and subsequent maintenance of global peace while simultaneously working to prevent weapons proliferation. According to Article 26 of United Nations Charter, DISEC’s mandate is “to promote the establishment and maintenance of international peace and security with the least diversion for armaments of the world’s human and economic resources.”

Under the UN Charter, all member states and observers of the United Nations are automatically part of the first committee of the General Assembly, and have an equal vote. Documents drafted by this committee require a simple majority to be passed. Like the other committees of the United Nations General Assembly, DISEC is unable to impose sanctions, authorize armed intervention, or pass binding resolutions. That being said, DISEC has submitted recommendations to the United Nations Security Council and to the UN Secretariat on several occasions, this makes DISEC one of the main UN actors currently playing a considerable role in the vision for global peace.





  • Links between drug trafficking and small arms trade



Executive Board

Chairperson: Sanjit Ganguli


Vice-Chairperson: Sidhant Gupta


Vice-Chairperson: Karan Suresh


Study Guide